Public universities · Penang, Penang

Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)

Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) · Photos via Google Maps · © SAIFUL HAIZAD AHAMAD JAINID (SHAJCREATIVE), Shafiq Rahman · Fetched 2026-10-10

At a glance

LocationPenang, Penang
SectorPublic universities
Programmes listed34
With published fees4

Research university (APEX). Undergraduate coverage is the programme set listed on USM's own undergraduate (Malaysian) admission index (about 31 distinct bachelors; the index text extraction appeared partial - e.g. Accounting, Architecture and Computer Science bachelors were not seen on it - so coverage is flagged as partial). Only one UG fee (Software Engineering, per-semester Malaysian) was verified on USM's own pages; the international UG fee schedule was not retrieved, so other UG fees are not_published. Postgraduate fees are standardised per category on USM admission programme pages, but local is published in MYR and international in USD, so PG group records are kept in USD with the MYR rate quoted in basis. The four Malay-medium Humanities specialisations (Malay Language Linguistics, Geography, Literature, History) are counted in excluded_e3; the online MBA seen in USM's PG fees PDF is counted in excluded_online. USM's doctoral programmes were not enumerated in this pass, so excluded_doctorate is 0 and understated. MQR list ID for USM was not retrieved; programmes carry badge not-in-MQR pending a code-level pass.

Programmes & fees

Fees are transcribed from the institution’s own published documents, in the currency and on the basis it publishes (total programme fee, per year or per semester). Where the institution publishes separate Malaysian and international rates, both are shown. A programme with no published fee is marked as such — figures are never estimated.

ProgrammeLevelMalaysianInternational
Bachelor of Biomedical Science
School of Medical Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16041
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Medical Radiation
School of Health Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16040
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Nutrition
School of Health Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA0133
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Audiology
School of Health Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16043
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Speech Pathology
School of Health Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16044
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Dietetics
School of Health Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16045
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Science (Animal Biology)
School of Biological Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17610
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Science (Plant Biology)
School of Biological Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17611
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Science (Mathematics)
School of Mathematical Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA15994
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Bioprocess Engineering Technology
School of Industrial Technology
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16895
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Building Engineering Technology
School of Housing, Building and Planning
English-medium
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Civil Engineering
School of Civil Engineering
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA9811
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering
School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA10483
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering
School of Mechanical Engineering
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA10488
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering
School of Mechanical Engineering
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA0826
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Building Surveying
School of Housing, Building and Planning
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA13787
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Quantity Surveying
School of Housing, Building and Planning
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA13732
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Construction Project Management
School of Housing, Building and Planning
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17103
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Interior Architecture
School of Housing, Building and Planning
English-medium
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Doctor of Medicine
School of Medical Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA3836
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor in Software Engineering
School of Computer Sciences
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA18130
BachelorRM1,210—
Bachelor of Arts (English for Professionals)
School of Languages, Literacies and Translation
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA0143
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Arts (English Language Studies)
School of Humanities
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA16878
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Economics
School of Social Sciences
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA0830
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Management
School of Management
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited)
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Social Work
School of Social Sciences
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA0829
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Fine Arts
School of the Arts
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17597
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Fine Arts (New Media Design and Technology)
School of the Arts
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA15989
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Fine Arts (Acting and Directing)
School of the Arts
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17105
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Fine Arts (Communication Graphics)
School of the Arts
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA17605
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Bachelor of Fine Arts (Product Design)
School of the Arts
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA15988
BachelorNot publishedNot published
Master's programmes by research - Humanities (group)
School of Humanities / Institute of Postgraduate Studies
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited)
Master—US$1,400
Master's programmes by research - Science (group)
Institute of Postgraduate Studies
English-medium MQA full accreditation (self-accredited)
Master—US$2,500
Master of Business Analytics
Graduate School of Business
Mainly English — some Malay/Arabic-medium courses MQA full accreditation (self-accredited) · MQA/SWA18131
Master—US$7,350

Bachelor of Biomedical Science

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Medical Radiation

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Nutrition

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Audiology

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Speech Pathology

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Dietetics

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Science (Animal Biology)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Science (Plant Biology)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Science (Mathematics)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Bioprocess Engineering Technology

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Building Engineering Technology

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Civil Engineering

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Electrical Engineering

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Building Surveying

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Quantity Surveying

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Construction Project Management

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Interior Architecture

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Doctor of Medicine

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor in Software Engineering

Basis: Per semester · USM admission programme listing (UPU channel): per-semester fee for Malaysian students - tuition RM660 + recurrent charges RM550 = RM1,210 per semester. International per-semester fee not published on the page checked. · Other charges: Non-recurrent charges RM720 payable on registration (as published). · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Bachelor of Arts (English for Professionals)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: English-language professional programme of USM's School of Languages, Literacies and Translation; delivered in English -> E1.

Bachelor of Arts (English Language Studies)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Humanities admission page states the medium of instruction for the English Language Studies specialisation is English Language -> E1. (The same page states Malay Language medium for the Malay Language Linguistics, Geography, Literature and History specialisations; those four are excluded as E3.)

Bachelor of Economics

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities / social sciences default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Management

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: USM presents the School of Management bachelor's (with specialisations in Business Analytics, International Business, Strategy and Organisation, Operations, Finance, Islamic Finance and Marketing) to international applicants in English; no quantified medium split is published -> E2.

Bachelor of Social Work

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities / social sciences default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Fine Arts

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities/arts default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Fine Arts (New Media Design and Technology)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities/arts default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Acting and Directing)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities/arts default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Communication Graphics)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities/arts default (E2) per the collection brief.

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Product Design)

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Public-UG humanities/arts default (E2) per the collection brief.

Master's programmes by research - Humanities (group)

Basis: Per semester · Group record: USM admission programme pages publish a standard per-semester fee for research masters in the humanities ('Pure Arts' category): international full-time USD1,400 per semester. The Malaysian rate on the same pages is MYR2,900 per semester (MYR2,385 part-time); it is quoted here rather than in 'local' because this record's currency is USD. Fees stated on the pages as NOT inclusive of 6% SST. · Figures exclude SST — the institution adds it where it applies. · Other charges: Registration MYR330 / USD225; personal bond USD1,000 (international); thesis evaluation MYR800 / USD250; convocation MYR200 / USD50; research methodology course MYR320 / USD80 (as published on USM admission programme pages). · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · Medium evidence: USM postgraduate admission pages are published in English for international applicants; no per-programme medium split is stated -> E2.

Master's programmes by research - Science (group)

Basis: Per semester · Group record: USM admission programme pages publish a standard per-semester fee for science research masters (e.g. Master of Science (Human Genetics)): international full-time USD2,500 per semester. The Malaysian rate on the same pages is MYR4,200 per semester; it is quoted here rather than in 'local' because this record's currency is USD. Fees stated on the pages as NOT inclusive of 6% SST. · Figures exclude SST — the institution adds it where it applies. · Other charges: Registration MYR330 / USD225; personal bond USD1,000 (international); thesis evaluation MYR800 / USD250; convocation MYR200 / USD50; research methodology course MYR320 / USD80 (as published on USM admission programme pages). · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · Medium evidence: USM School of Aerospace Engineering (USM's own site): 'the medium of instruction for all science and engineering courses at USM is English.' -> E1.

Master of Business Analytics

Basis: Total programme fee · USM programme page: tuition is charged per unit over 42 units - international USD175 per unit = USD7,350 total (rising to USD215 per unit = USD9,030 for the 2026/2027 intake). The Malaysian rate on the same page is MYR450 per unit = MYR18,900 total; it is quoted here rather than in 'local' because this record's currency is USD. Fees NOT inclusive of 6% SST. · Figures exclude SST — the institution adds it where it applies. · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · Medium evidence: Graduate School of Business programme page is published in English with a USD fee schedule for international students; no medium split is stated -> E2.

Sources

Every figure on this page traces to the institution’s own publications or the MQA register, checked 9 October 2026.

Is this information accurate?