Foreign branch campuses · George Town, Penang

Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and University College Dublin Malaysia Campus (RUMC)

Formerly Penang Medical College (renamed 2018; branch campus status granted 2018)

At a glance

LocationGeorge Town, Penang
SectorForeign branch campuses
Home institutionRoyal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) and University College Dublin (UCD), Ireland
Programmes listed4
With published fees3

RUMC is Malaysia's only Irish transnational medical campus: the MB BCh BAO is delivered 2.5 years in Dublin (at RCSI or UCD) + 2.5 years in Penang and is conferred by the National University of Ireland (NUI); it is accredited by the Malaysian Medical Council and the Irish Medical Council. Excluded items: MSc Public Health (MQA/FA7199) shows a cessation date of 01/10/2025 in its MQR certificate and is not on RUMC's current programme index — ceased, not collected. The Structured PhD on the programme index is tallied in excluded_doctorate (1). Foundation in Science and the Pre-Medical Foundation Year are below bachelor level. The Malaysia-Ireland Training Programme for Family Medicine (MInTFM) is a 4-year specialist training programme hosted by RUMC, not a master's degree, and is not collected. The MSc in Occupational Therapy was collected from RUMC's own current programme page although it did not appear in the programme-index extraction; its page prints the code as 'MOA/PA 18398', an evident typo recorded here as MQA/PA18398. Medium basis for the Penang-based programmes: RUMC's own site states its programmes are English-taught (the explicit statement captured refers to its Irish medical degree); the BSc/MSc programmes carry English entry requirements and no non-English medium is indicated — flagged in _report.md.

Programmes & fees

Fees are transcribed from the institution’s own published documents, in the currency and on the basis it publishes (total programme fee, per year or per semester). Where the institution publishes separate Malaysian and international rates, both are shown. A programme with no published fee is marked as such — figures are never estimated.

ProgrammeLevelMalaysianInternational
Undergraduate Medicine (MB BCh BAO)
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA4397
BachelorRM620,000RM740,000
BSc in Medical Informatics
English-medium MQA provisional accreditation · MQA/PA16934
BachelorRM93,000RM102,000
MSc Health Research
English-medium MQA full accreditation · MQA/FA4091
MasterNot publishedNot published
MSc in Occupational Therapy
English-medium MQA provisional accreditation · MQA/PA18398
MasterRM28,000RM35,000

Undergraduate Medicine (MB BCh BAO)

Basis: Total programme fee · Total programme fee as published on RUMC's Undergraduate Medicine page: Malaysian RM620,000; international RM740,000 (the page also itemises the international fee in euro, totalling €155,000 — the dual presentation is flagged in _report.md). Split-site semester schedule as published: Dublin Year 1 €33,000 for Malaysian students (shown on the page as RM160,000) / €38,000 for international students; Dublin semesters thereafter €16,500 (Malaysian) / €19,000 (international) per semester; Penang from Year 3 Semester 2 RM43,900 per semester (Malaysian) / €12,000 per semester (international); Penang Years 4-5 RM87,800 per year (Malaysian) / €24,000 per year (international). The degree is conferred by the National University of Ireland (NUI). · Other charges: Deposit €6,000; one-time immunisation fee €380 (RCSI) or €310 (UCD); one-time RCSI NUI fee €135. · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · English requirement: IELTS 6.5 (each component 6.0 or above); TOEFL iBT 90 (each section 21 or above); PTE 63 (each component 59 or above); SPM CEFR C1 · Intakes: September · Medium evidence: RUMC states on its own site (rumc.edu.my) that its Irish transnational medical programme 'is taught in English' and is 'fully English-taught', combining pre-clinical training in Dublin with clinical years in Penang.

BSc in Medical Informatics

Basis: Total programme fee · Total programme fee as published by RUMC: RM93,000 for Malaysian students (RM15,500 per semester) / RM102,000 for international students (RM17,000 per semester), over 3 years (6 semesters). The programme is based in Penang. · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · English requirement: MUET minimum Band 3.5 (per RUMC's programme brochure) · Intakes: January & September · Medium evidence: Penang-based RUMC programme with English-language entry requirements (MUET Band 3.5 minimum); RUMC's own site states its programmes are English-taught (explicit statement captured for its Irish medical degree — see institution notes and _report.md).

MSc Health Research

This institution does not publish a fee for this programme; no figure is shown rather than an estimate. · Official source · Medium evidence: Penang-based RUMC programme; RUMC's own site states its programmes are English-taught (explicit statement captured for its Irish medical degree — see institution notes and _report.md).

MSc in Occupational Therapy

Basis: Total programme fee · Fees as published on RUMC's MSc in Occupational Therapy page: Malaysian MYR 28,000 / International MYR 35,000; the page does not state the period the fee covers, so the figures are recorded as published without annualising. The programme is a research-based master's for occupational therapy graduates, delivered in a hybrid model (online plus in-person sessions) — not fully online, so it is recorded with delivery 'conventional' and the hybrid model noted here. · Academic year: not stated by the institution · checked 2026-10-09 · Official source · English requirement: IELTS 5.5 (for international students, per RUMC's programme page) · Medium evidence: RUMC programme delivered in Penang in a hybrid model with English entry requirements (IELTS 5.5 for international students); RUMC's own site states its programmes are English-taught (explicit statement captured for its Irish medical degree — see institution notes and _report.md).

Sources

Every figure on this page traces to the institution’s own publications or the MQA register, checked 9 October 2026.

Is this information accurate?